Brigg Biomass Plant Community Fund

Brigg Biomass Plant Community Fund


Brigg, North Lincolnshire

Total Grants Available:

£50,000 per year for three years (until 2018)

Fund Provided by:


The Brigg Renewable Energy Plant is owned by BWSC North Lincs a company owned by a joint venture of Burmeister & Wain Scandinavian Contractor A/S and Copenhagen Infrastructure Partners K/S together with PensionDanmark A/S.

The electricity generated by the straw-fuelled power plant, which is enough for 75,000 UK households, is fed into the national grid and will be offsetting up to 250,000 tonnes of Carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions annually.

For further information about the development, click here

A commitment has been made by the developer to provide a Community Fund. £50,000 will be available per year for a three year period.

Grants Awarded

To date, grants have been awarded across two application rounds, one in 2016 and the other in 2017.
Please click here to see details about the projects which have successfully secured a grant.

Project Locations

To qualify for a grant for the next round, your project will need to be located within 3 miles of the Plant. The map below outlines this area:


Closing Date

There will be one application round to apply to each year. The next deadline date is Wednesday 8 August 2018.

Grant Amounts

The Fund allows groups to apply for grants between £500 and £20,000. Please click below to read the full criteria and details of how to apply:


Grant Recommendations

A local Advisory Group has been established to help decide which applications will receive grants. The names of the individuals and which organisations they represent are detailed below. The criteria will be reviewed each year by the Advisory Group and revised if necessary.

  • Cllr Neil Poole – Representing Ridge Ward
  • Cllr Holly Mumby-Croft – Representing Broughton Ward
  • Cllr Madeline Keyworth – Representing Scawby Parish Council
  • Cllr Brian Brooks – Representing Hibaldstow Parish Council
  • Cllr Mike Storey – Representing Brigg Town Council
  • Mr Simon Seale – Representing North Lincs Council
  • Mr Colin Jones – Representing BNLL