Our Staff

We are a highly skilled and flexible team, who have collectively accrued over 80 years’ professional experience in the business of grant administration. You can find out more about our dedicated staff below:

Matt Young, Chief Executive

Matt has been with GrantScape since 2001 and is responsible for the continual development and ongoing success of the Charity. He delivers the strategy set by our Trustees, and ensures our high level of governance is sustained. Matt represents GrantScape at various networks and associations, including as Chair of ADEB, the association that represents funders from the Landfill Communities Fund – a £40 million per year England and Northern Ireland wide-scheme.

Matt is also responsible for all new business development opportunities, so whether you would like to speak to us about managing your community funds, require a bespoke consultancy service, or just want a chat for some free, informal advice, please contact matt.young@grantscape.org.uk or call 07963 987657.

Liz Payne, Grant Director

Liz is responsible for the overall delivery of all grant programmes and operations within the charity. She heads up the grant team and is extremely experienced in all aspects of grant-making, having accumulated over 15 years’ practice within GrantScape and other funding organisations. She is also the main contact for the Walney Extension Community Fund and the Burbo Bank Extension Community Fund, both funds being made possible by donations from Ørsted.
Liz works part-time, usually Monday to Thursday.

email: liz.payne@grantscape.org.uk

Andrew Wallis, Finance Director

Andrew joined us in 2017 and comes with a financial background in the Leisure Industry. He is also our Company Secretary, and with Liz and Matt, makes up the Senior Management Team.
Andrew works part-time, normally Wednesday to Friday.

email: andrew.wallis@grantscape.org.uk

Debbie Clare, Finance Assistant

Debbie manages the day-to-day accounts, payroll and processing of grant claims for payment. She joined the Charity in July 2017 and works part-time, Tuesday to Thursday.

email: debbie.clare@grantscape.org.uk

Tina Knibbs, Marketing Manager

Tina has been with us since 2002. She is responsible for our website structure and content, all promotional and marketing materials, and the development and oversight of our grants database. She also supports the Chief Executive in identifying and delivering new business opportunities.
Tina works part-time, usually Monday to Thursday.

email: tina.knibbs@grantscape.org.uk

Karen Roberts, Grant Officer

Karen is one of GrantScape’s two Grant Officers. She joined the Charity in August 2017 and is the main contact for the Mick George Community Fund and the Augean Community Fund.
Karen works part-time, Monday to Wednesday.

email: karen.roberts@grantscape.org.uk

Sara Watts, Grant Officer

Sara is our other Grant Officer, and is the main contact for Ørsted’s East Coast Community Fund and the Coastal Recycling Community Fund in Devon. Sara joined us in November 2017.
Sara works full time.

email: sara.watts@grantscape.org.uk

Kim Wilkinson, Grant Administrator

Kim helps keep our office running smoothly. She deals with telephone enquiries and undertakes the initial first stage assessments of all grant applications.
Kim works part-time, normally Monday, Wednesday and Thursday each week.

email: kim.Wilkinson@grantscape.org.uk

In additional to our paid staff, we have over 150 volunteers who represent their communities on local Advisory Groups across the range of Community Funds that we administer throughout England and Wales. Their help and advice in the decision making process is absolutely vital to ensure the grants awarded are to the most worthwhile and important community and environmental projects. We are continually grateful for their ongoing support. Details of the members of our Advisory Groups can be found on the specific Fund pages.

As a registered charity, we are governed by a Board of Trustees. For more information about our Board members, please click here